Like a Moth to Fatal Flames I Go

Like a moth drawn to fatal flames

I, zombie-like am drawn to you.

Held under you spell

I can’t resist that trait

Which in you shines.

Faintly, I see the lucid strings

That one by one entrap me.

Ere long your deadly web entangles me.

Lured by the promise of a fast fading fantasy

I dare to feel the burning passion

That soon consumes me.

The flame that I beheld in you,

It burned me.

Now, in vain for you I wait.

At night I think I see your spark,

Wide-eyed I follow,

Only to find it’s not for me it shines,

It never was.

Leave a Reply

