Life Inc.

So many dreams

And heart’s desires

It’s hard to keep them straight.

 

I yearn for discipline

And strength

I miss the days

When mother sang

And father knew.

 

Those days are gone

Now there’s no one there

No person to say right from wrong

No teacher to hold your hand

 

Nobody knows

Hearts get so confused

And minds, they harden.

 

Between passion

And reason

There is little space for me.

 

I feel trapped

Living on a thin strip

Neither here nor there

Chasing seedlings of what could be

All the while not sowing

For the harvest

Not attending to what I have.

 

It is hard to find yourself.

The moment it seems you’ve done it

Things change.

 

In a world where there is

No right or wrong

Or best of all

It all feels bad.

 

I lack the confidence

In my steps

Am fooled by words

Images feel real

And I begin to sink

 

Down, down

Ever smaller

Lowly, discontent.

I am humbled.

 

We live in retrospect

Smarter about the past

But just as ignorant of the future

And irresponsible about today.

 

It seems we can’t prepare.

We look for leaders

New guides

To the frightening

The unknown.

 

But there are no real diviners

Fortune tellers

You can’t secure the future

There is no contract

You’re here at will.

Leave a Reply

